Shopping Small in Glasgow!

Well a lot has happened since my last post, the biggest change being in our new home just outside Glasgow – yep am now living among the great Scots and have spent the last couple of months exploring all the exciting new (to me) small shops and businesses that I’m surrounded by! Glasgow truly is a creative city and as each week passes I’m falling in love a little bit more …… there is still so much to see and do but here’s the low down on some of the markets and collectives that I’ve been to so far found using my trusty Instagram account!

The Hidden Lane

One of the first places I visited back in July, I first heard about this colourful little piece of Finnieston via Bonnie Bling’s Insta feed as she is based here. During the week this is a collective of studios and creative spaces but on a Saturday the studios open up and you can browse and shop direct from the makers which is independent shopping at its best! Other than being able to buy Bonnie Bling on the spot ( which is a dangerous thought!) I’ve also discovered the lovely Libby Walker whose illustrations are just amazing, and the perfect gift shop Decadent Riot which I’m sure I’ll be visiting a lot in the lead up to Christmas! If you love shopping independents and curious to learn about how these creative peeps create then this a must place to visit if you’re ever in the area.

Glasgow Vintage & Flea Market

This is a monthly vintage market held on a Sunday at Barras Art & Design (BAaD) full of all things vintage; clothes, china & glass, furniture,and posters. I’ve now been twice and not been disappointed. The last trip bagged me a perfect pair of vintage Levis from Rip it up Vintage and a table for our new home from the gorgeous Habiib. Will be back again for sure, details of all market dates are on their website and pop up on Instagram so get those post notifications on!

The I.D. Pop Up Store

I missed this one back in July but heard good things about it so was keen to get along to the next one which was last weekend held at The Lighthouse and run by Granny Would Be Proud. I was so glad I did – I found so many gorgeous things all from local makers and designers and given the chance could have easily spent a fortune! What I did pick up I love including an amazing pair of earrings from Rachael Weir Designs a new pin by Fun Makes Good and a flamingo card (of course!) from The Canny Squirrel. Dates for upcoming events at The Lighthouse and Hillhead Bookclub can be found on the Granny Would Be Proud link above or search on Insta using #IDStoreGla

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Coming up I’ve got these in the diary Urban Market at Drygate Brewery on 1st October and Tea Green Pop Up At Kibble Palace on 4th November ….. if you know of anymore that are coming up give me a shout – always happy to hear of any new places to go especially in the lead up to Christmas!

Till next time
raspberry emma x

Supporting Small Businesses

 

Leave a comment